Release Planning for Samba 3.0

Revision as of 15:15, 23 June 2009 by Kseeger (talk | contribs) (Samba 3.0.35)

Samba 3.0 turned into maintainance mode

(Updated 10-March-2009)

With the release of Samba 3.2.0 on July 1, the clock has been started to End-Of-Life the Samba 3.0 series on July 1, 2009. Moving forward, any 3.0.x releases will be on a as needed basis for critical bug fixes or security issues only.

Samba 3.0.36

(Updated 23-June-2009)

  • Wednesday, August 5 2009: Planned release date for Samba 3.0.35

Please note that this will be the last release of the 3.0 series!

Samba 3.0.35

(Updated 23-June-2009)

  • Tuesday, June 23 2009: Samba 3.0.35 Security Release has been released to address

CVE-2009-1888 ("Uninitialized read of a data value"). For more information, please see Samba Security page.

 Security Advisory

Samba 3.0.34

(Updated 20-January-2009)

  • Tuesday, January 20 2009: Samba 3.0.34 has been released

Samba 3.0.33

(Updated 27-November-2008)

  • Thursday, November 27 - Samba 3.0.33 Security Release has been released to address CVE-2008-4314 ("Potential leak of arbitrary memory contents").
 Security advisory

Samba 3.0.32

(Updated 25-August-2008)

  • Samba 3.0.32 has been released on August 25.

Samba 3.0.31

(Updated 31-July-2008)

  • Samba 3.0.31 has been released on July 10.

Samba 3.0.30

(Updated 28-May-2008)

Samba 3.0.29

(Updated 23-May-2008)

  • Thursday, May 22 - Samba 3.0.29 has been released

Samba 3.0.28a

(Updated 08-March-2008) The following time based release schedule is currently in play for Samba 3.0.28a:

  • Saturday, March 08 - Samba 3.0.28a has been released

Samba 3.0.28

(Updated 28-February-2008)

  • Monday, December 10 - Samba 3.0.28 has been released

Samba 3.0.26

(Updated 18-May-2007) The following time based release schedule is currently in play for Samba 3.0.26:

  • Monday, June 4 - Feature freeze for in the SAMBA_3_0_26 svn branch.
  • Friday, June 15 - Samba 3.0.26pre1
  • Remaining releases - TBD

Samba 3.0.25a

(Updated 18-May-2007) The following time based release schedule is currently in play for Samba 3.0.25a:

  • Friday, May 25 - Official 3.0.25a release

This means that all code must checked into the SAMBA_3_0_25 branch by Thursday, May 24, 7am (GMT-5). The current list of open bugs has been targeted for the 3.0.25 milestone in Bugzilla.


Samba 3.0.25

(Updated 6-Apr-2007) The following time based release schedule is currently in play for Samba 3.0.25:

Part of the Samba 3.0.25 release process includes several Bugzilla Day bug hunts. See the list of open bugs.

  • Tuesday, Feb 27 - Samba 3.0.25pre1 (done)
  • Tuesday, March 20 - Samba 3.0.25pre2 (done)
  • Monday, April 9 - Samba 3.0.25 RC1 (done)
  • Sunday, April 22 - Samba 3.0.25 RC2 (done)
  • Wednesday, April 25 - Samba 3.0.25 RC3 (done)
  • Monday, May 14 - Final 3.0.25 release (done).

You can review the original email thread on samba-technical for more details.